WASHINGTON, D.C. –Today, Congressman Jim Himes, co-chair of the Financial Services Task Force of the New Democrat Coalition, and his colleagues in the Coalition called for quick and decisive action on the economic recovery package.  The New Democrat Coalition is the largest coalition of centrist Democrats in the House.

The unemployment rate is on pace to reach double digits by the summer. Banks have lost trillions and can’t lend. Businesses have stopped hiring. The time to act is now.

“Families across the board are suffering as never before, and this economic recovery package is an important first step toward putting Americans back to work and helping businesses keep and create jobs,” Rep. Himes. “Our current economic crisis requires bold, decisive action, and this plan will help get the economy back on track.”

The New Democrat Coalition, longtime leaders on the economy and innovation, is committed to enacting policies to maintain our competitive edge, meet the challenges posed by globalization, and strengthen our national security. A steadfast commitment to forward-thinking policies on economic growth and innovation initiatives is necessary so that the U.S. remains the most competitive and innovative nation in the world.

The House economic package cuts taxes for middle class Americans, extends unemployment insurance, helps states in danger of having to cut teachers and police officers and other vital services, and invests in our roads and bridges, medical technology, and energy independence.

The New Dems agree with President Obama that the plan is not perfect but warned that the cost to American families is too great to delay, or worse, do nothing.

In a letter to House Democratic leaders, New Dems pushed for more investment in broadband infrastructure, focusing comparative effectiveness research on clinical effectiveness and medical outcomes, and an expansion and improvement of Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) programs.


Congressman Jim Himes represents Connecticut’s 4th District, which includes the communities of Bridgeport, Darien, Easton, Fairfield,  Greenwich, Monroe, New Canaan, Norwalk, Oxford, Redding, Ridgefield, Shelton, Stamford, Trumbull,  Weston, Westport, and Wilton.