Viewing Posts Related to FEMA

Funding: $500,000,000 

Description: Provides capitalization grants to state governments, who in turn, establish revolving funds that provide low-interest hazard mitigation loans to local governments. This will provide a source of funding for local governments to carry out projects that reduce disaster risk and decrease the loss of life and property, the cost of insurance claims, and federal disaster payments.

There is a $5 million cap on grant awards on a per-project basis and a maximum 1% interest rate, with repayment terms up to 20 years after project completion, or up to 30 years for projects benefiting low-income geographies. 

Eligible Recipients: States initially receive funding, then provide funds to local governments for eligible projects. States must submit an intended use plan to FEMA annually to demonstrate how they will administer the revolving loan funds.

Eligible Uses: Projects that mitigate hazards from: drought and prolonged, intense heat; severe storms such as hurricanes, tornadoes, wind storms, cyclones, and severe winter storms; wildfires; earthquakes; flooding; shoreline erosion, and; high water levels; and storm surges. 

State Administering Agency: Connecticut Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (CTDEMHS)

Learn More: Here. States, local governments, and community stakeholders should begin working together to identify and prioritize mitigation projects with the greatest need of funding.

Funding: $1,000,000,000

Description: Makes available federal funds to state, local, and Tribal governments to address cybersecurity risks and cybersecurity threats to information systems that they own or operate. States and territories will use their State Administrative Agencies (SAAs) to receive the funds from the Federal Government and then distribute the funding to local governments in accordance with state law/procedure.  This is the same way in which funding is distributed to local governments in the Homeland Security Grant Program.

Eligible Recipients: State, territorial, and Tribal governments or multi-entity groups of two or more eligible entities.

Eligible Uses: Develop and revise cybersecurity plans; implement elements of the cybersecurity plan (including individual projects); address imminent cybersecurity threats, as confirmed by the Department of Homeland Secretary, acting through the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency Director; grants management and administration (5 percent maximum); any other appropriate activity determined by the Department of Homeland Security Secretary, acting through the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency Director.

Deadline: November 8, 2022

Learn More: Here and Here

Funding: $585,000,000 

Description: Provides grants for technical, planning, design, and construction assistance for repairing, removing, or rehabilitating eligible high hazard non-federal dams.

Eligible Recipients: States (each state submits one application to FEMA for funding on behalf of sub-recipients). Eligible subrecipients, which are limited to non-federal government or nonprofit entities, apply for and receive subawards directly from the relevant state agency if the state agency accept applications from subapplicants.

Eligible Uses: Eligible activities include repair, removal, or any other structural or nonstructural measures to rehabilitate an eligible high hazard potential dam. 

Deadline: July 15, 2022

Learn More: Here and Here

Funding: $3,500,000,000

Description: Provides funding to state and local governments for projects that reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (i.e., the goal of this program is to decrease claim payouts). 

Eligible Recipients: State and local governments. Notably, local governments submit mitigation planning and project applications to their state during the open application cycle. After reviewing applications, the state prioritizes and forwards the applications to their FEMA Regional Office. Local governments should contact their State Hazard Mitigation Officer here.

Eligible Uses: These grants are focused on projects that reduce flood risks posed to repetitively flooded properties insured under the National Flood Insurance Program. Federal Emergency Management Agency is distributing Fiscal Year 2021 Flood Mitigation Assistance funding amount as follows: 

  • Project scoping (previously advance assistance) to develop community flood mitigation projects and/or individual flood mitigation projects that will subsequently reduce flood claims against the National Flood Insurance Program. 

  • Projects that address community flood risk for the purpose of reducing National Flood Insurance Program flood claim payments. 

  • Technical assistance to maintain a viable Flood Mitigation Assistance program over time.

  • Planning sub-applications for the flood hazard component of State, Local, Territory, and Tribal Hazard Mitigation Plans and plan updates. 

Deadline: TBA. Applications for Fiscal Year 2022 will open in Fall 2022.

Learn More: Here and here

Funding: $1,000,000,000

Description: Provides funding to state and local governments to help reduce the overall risk to the population and structures from future hazard events

Eligible Recipients: States, local, Tribal, and territorial governments.  Notably, the State Emergency Management Agency, coordinated by the State Hazard Mitigation Officer (SHMO), receives and applies to FEMA for funding. This means that communities may apply for the BRIC program through their state’s emergency management agency rather than applying to FEMA directly.  States review all projects within their state and develop a priority order for applications in the state allocation project pool and the national mitigation project competition pool. 

Eligible Uses: Federal Emergency Management Agency will provide financial assistance to eligible Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities applicants for the following activities: 

  • Capability and Capacity-Building – Activities, which enhance the knowledge, skills, expertise, etc., of the current workforce to expand or improve the administration of mitigation assistance. This includes activities in the following sub-categories: building codes activities, partnerships, project scoping, mitigation planning and planning-related activities, and other activities; 

  • Mitigation Projects – Cost-effective projects designed to increase resilience and public safety; reduce injuries and loss of life; and reduce damage and destruction to property, critical services, facilities, and infrastructure from natural hazards and the effects of climate change; and 

  • Management Costs – Financial assistance to reimburse the recipient and subrecipient for eligible and reasonable indirect costs, direct administrative costs, and other administrative expenses associated with a specific mitigation measure or project in an amount up to 15 percent of the total amount of the grant award, of which not more than 10 percent of the total award amount may be used by the recipient and 5 percent by the subrecipient for such costs generally.

Deadline: December 2, 2022 (for CT DEMHS)

Learn More: Here and here