WASHINGTON, DC—Congressman Jim Himes (CT-4) announced today that three schools in the Fourth District are among the 286 public and private schools across the country to be named the National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2013. St. Jude School in Monroe, Staples High School in Westport, and Weston High School are included in the list of schools recognized for their overall academic excellence or their progress in improving student academic achievement

“Congratulations to St. Jude, Staples, and Weston on being recognized for having some of the best and brightest students in the country,” said Himes. “Education is the foundation of our economy: our success as a nation depends on a well-educated workforce. I am extremely pleased that these schools have been recognized for their commitment to educating the next generation of workers, innovators, and leaders.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools are announced by the U.S. Department of Education every year. The program, created in 1982, recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements toward those standards. Click here for a list of all 286 winners.