Washington – Today, Reps. John B. Larson (CT-01), Joseph Courtney (CT-02), Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Jim Himes (CT-04), and Elizabeth Esty (CT-05) issued the following statement on H.R. 1076, Republican Rep. Peter King’s Denying Firearms and Explosives to Dangerous Terrorists Act:

“There is no excuse for allowing suspected terrorists to purchase firearms,” said the delegation. “For the third time this week, House Republicans blocked a commonsense measure to keep those on the FBI’s Terrorist Watchlist from legally obtaining deadly weapons. This is unconscionable. For the safety of the American people, Congress must hold a vote to close this dangerous loophole.”