Earlier this month, the United States Economic Development Administration (EDA) designated an Economic Development District (EDD) in Southwestern Connecticut. This designation includes the municipalities of Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Redding, Ridgefield, Stamford, Weston, Westport, and Wilton, and it will allow the region to consider applying for Public Works, Economic Adjustment, Planning and other grants offered by the federal government.

“A core part of my job in Congress is to fight for federal investments in our community,” Congressman Jim Himes said. “This designation will help me to do just that. Thanks to this Economic Development District, more of my constituent will benefit from critical grant programs offered by the federal government.”

Federal designation as an EDD is a crucial step in an achieving greater regional collaboration toward the Western Connecticut Economic Development District’s Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy. The effort to achieve this designation was launched by the Western Connecticut Council of Governments in 2015, and Congressman Himes joined Senators Richard Blumenthal and Chris Murphy to support the application.

“The designation of the Western Connecticut Economic Development District a key achievement in bringing the region together to build a strong, shared economic future,” Francis Pickering, Executive Director of WestCOG, said. “This recognition is the culmination of years of hard work by our federal delegation; partners at EDA, DECD, and OPM; and stakeholders throughout the region.”