## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 1, 2023

The Honorable Amit Bose Administrator Federal Railroad Administration 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590 The Honorable Tristan Brown Deputy Administrator Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Administrator Bose and Deputy Administrator Brown,

Thank you both for your rapid and thorough response to the February 3 derailment of Norfolk Southern freight train 32N in East Palestine, Ohio. With your agencies' participation in the NTSB investigation, as well as industry and labor's, we hope this investigation will be thorough and professional and will answer our questions about how to protect other communities from similar accidents.

We understand the NTSB's investigation is a deliberate process. As your agencies continue their participation in the investigation into the derailment, its causes, the subsequent fire, and the response, we respectfully request that, if the ongoing investigation identifies concerns that warrant immediate action, that your agencies use their authorities to issue safety advisories, directives or the like to respond as soon as possible to ensure safety, rather than waiting for the NTSB to issue its final report. The sooner we address any immediate needs the better we can improve safety.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, and we look forward to working with you to improve freight rail safety.

Sincerely,

Donald M. Payne, Jr.
Member of Congress
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Railroads,
Pipelines, and Hazardous
Materials

Rick Larsen
Ranking Member
Committee on Transportation
and Infrastructure

Rick Zanser

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress Vice Ranking Member Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

## André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Workon Colema

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

dsman Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

10.CLL

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress



Mike Levin
Member of Congress

Christopher Deluzio
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

ham Sattler Peltola

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Sim Himes Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Sara Jacobs
Member of Congress



Jared Myskowitz Member of Congress

Bill Foster
Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Robert Menendez Member of Congress

holet Menule

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

gum S. Tusol

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Mike Quigley
Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkarup Perez Member of Congress

Britany Pettersen Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress



Jahana Hayes Member of Con

Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Timmy Panetta Member of Congress Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress